Woodland Education Foundation

Our Mission: It shall be the mission of the Woodland Education Foundation to acquire and distribute financial and other resources to the Woodland School District. These resources shall be used for programs and projects designed to enhance or supplement Woodland educational programs and provide extended educational opportunities.

Meeting Info: The first Thursday of the month (except June, July, Aug. & Dec.) at 6:00p.m. in H.S. Conference Room (in west wing).

Our Members: Larry Martell (Chairman), Dan Reinmann (Vice-Chairman), Melissa Ruff (Secretary), Kathy Losey (Treasurer), Travis Essman, Margaret Finlen-Jenkins, Kristin Hjerpe, Supt. Ryan McGuckin, Heather McMullen-Perhach, Lori Miller, Vicki Walter

Event Directors: Deb Kelly; Virginia Reinmann; Dawn Carby

Honors & Events:

Mar. 03, 2017 - Excellence In Education

The Excellence in Education award honors one faculty member annually for their dedication to the educational process and their genuine concern and interest for all students at Woodland School. Recipients must be actively teaching on staff, have a minimum of seven years teaching experience at Woodland School, and be a positive role model for Woodland students. The recipient for 2017 will be announced in Spring 2017. Previous recipients were:Gary Robbins, 2000; Barbara McKeever, 2001; Bill Bretzman, 2002; Mary Ann Farrar, 2003; Georgia Campbell, 2004; Rick Knuffman, 2005; Janet Durre, 2006; Deborah Porter, 2007; Gloria Jurczak, 2008; Marti Highsmith, 2009; Margaret Finlen-Jenkins, 2010; Lori Miller, 2011; Debi Fredrickson, 2012; Deirdre Toler,2013; Christine Brown, 2014; Julie Haar, 2015; Amy Lee, 2016.

Feb. 24, 2017 - Trivia Night

Trivia Night will be February 24, 2017 at the K of C Hall in Streator from 7:00p.m. to 10:00p.m. Proceeds go to the WEF Scholarship Fund. Please contact the Woodland School district office at (815)672-5974 to reserve a table.

*Donkey Basketball will return in 2018
Donkey Basketball is an exciting and hilarious family event where everyone is left wondering who is more stubborn -- the players or the animals. Determination and flexibility are the key. This school year, our Donkey Basketball Game will be held on _______________ in the Woodland High School gymnasium from 5:00p.m. to 10:00p.m. Ticket prices are subject to change -- $6.00 in advance or $8.00 at the door. Advance tickets are available for purchase at Shaw's Appliance, B&R Grocery and Woodland School Superintendent's office.

Mar. 31, 2017 - Hall of Fame Assembly & Banquet

Nominations are being taken for alumni of Woodland High School who have attained distinction in their lifetime achievements for induction into the Woodland Education Foundation Hall of Fame. If you would like to nominate someone, please click on the Hall of Fame link at the top of this page or contact Vicki Walter at (815)257-1949. Forms are due back in the school's main office by January 5, 2017.

Past inductees include: 1998 Robert G. Appel, Class of 1955; Nancy (Sass) Scotillo, Class of 1967; Shelly (Groom) Donahue, Class of 1975; 1999 Robert Brauner, Class of 1964; Greg Tullis, Class of 1977; 2000 Jerry Daugherity, Class of 1955; Jean Gaspardo, Class of 1965; Mary Beth (Ruff) Voights, Class of 1976; 2001 Don Mounce, Class of 1973; Bill Gaff, Class of 1975; 2002 Warren Schneider, Class of 1965; Susan Turner, Class of 1967; David Wampler, Class of 1978; 2003 Vincent Luckey, Class of 1964; Steven Christopher, Class of1970; Charles Luckey, Class of 1971; 2004 Raymond Defenbaugh, Class of 1964; Clarke Earley, Class of 1979; Diane (Quick) Becker; 2005 Will Redd, Class of 1964; Marilyn (Gaspardo) Bertsch, Class of 1971; Patricia (Elliott) Decker, Class of 1973; 2006 Dale Sass, Class of 1970, Charles Glisson, Class of 1973; Julie (Shaw) Arizzi, Class of 1983; 2007 Kenneth Negray, Class of 1970; Kathy (Shaw) Losey, Class of 1976; Kenneth Beutke, Class of 1980; 2008 Edith (Decker) Dady, Class of 1957; Arlene (Gaspardo) Martell, Class of1961; Stephen Rittenhouse, Class of 1977; 2009 Scott Groom, Class of 1978; Jerry Ftacek, Class of 1970; Mary Jane (Russow) Funke, Class of 1966; 2010 Steve Zurlinden, Class of 1971; Glenn Cunningham, Class of 1982; Jesse Ruff, Class of 1983; 2011 Ralph Cole, Class of 1978; 2012 Carolyn (Lentman) Burford, Class of 1968; 2013 Michael Lesko, Class of 1970; 2014 Janet (Gaspardo) Marshall, Class of 1972; 2015 Jason Barickman, Class of 1993; David Mounce, Class of 1962; Patricia (Chismar) Mounce, Class of 1964; 2016 Dave Lentman, Class of 1971; Mary (Grant) Lentman, Class of 1972; Sergio Santos, Class of 1990.

May 22, 2017 - Honors Night

This event honors all of those high school students receiving recognition and scholarships.

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2023 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.